Welcome to the official Toyota Cheetah page

All you want to know about the team

Online Tickets

Tian Meyer to lead the Toyota Cheetahs against Jaguares

Posted on Thursday, 16 Mar 2017

Tian Meyer to lead the Toyota Cheetahs against Jaguares

The Toyota Cheetahs, captained by Tian Meyer, will be taking on the Jaguares at Velez Sarsfield in Buenos Aires, Argentina on Saturday, 17 March 2017.  The match kicks off at 21:40 SA time.  Coach Franco Smith named his the team for the encounter. 

Changes to the team from last week:

  • Danie Mienie (prop), Elandré Huggett (hooker), Tom Botha (prop), Armandt Koster (lock), Henco Venter (flanker), Niel Marais (flyhalf) and Ruan van Rensburg (wing) moves to the starting line-up

while Charles Marais, Johan Coetzee, Paul Schoeman and Fred Zeilinga moves to the bench. 

  • Elandré Huggett will be replacing Torsten van Jaarsveld.
  • Armandt Koster will be replacing Justin Basson on lock.
  • Ruan van Rensburg will be replacing the injured Raymond Rhule.
  • Michael van der Spuy will be joining the starting line-up, replacing Ryno Benjamin on outside centre.  Benjamin moves to right wing.
  • New to the bench:  Joseph Dweba, Carl Wegner, William Small-Smith/ Boom Prinsloo and Shaun Venter.

The referee for the game is Paul Williams (New Zeeland).  He will be assisted by Nick Briant (New Zeeland) and Pablo Deluca (Argentina).  The TMO is Santiago Borsani from Argentina.    


          Toyota Cheetahs vs Jaguares

          17 March 2017, 21:40

           Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires


  1. Danie Mienie
  2. Elandré Huggett
  3. Tom Botha
  4. Armandt Koster
  5. Francois Uys
  6. Henco Venter
  7. Oupa Mohoje
  8. Niell Jordaan
  9. Tian Meyer (c )
  10. Niel Marais
  11. Ruan van Rensburg
  12. Clinton Swart
  13. Michael van der Spuy
  14. Ryno Benjamin
  15. Clayton Blommetjies


  1. Joseph Dweba
  2. Charles Marais
  3. Johan Coetzee
  4. Carl Wegner
  5. Paul Schoeman
  6. William Small-Smith / Boom Prinsloo
  7. Shaun Venter
  8. Fred Zeilinga 
Share this article: