Follow the game on the Cheetah Rugby App

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Toyota Free State Cheetahs vs WP

Posted on Thursday, 23 Aug 2019

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT:  Toyota Free State Cheetahs vs WP

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs will be facing DHL Western Province on Saturday, 24 August at 17:15 in Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein.   

Gates open at 11:00 with curtain raisers between Toyota Free State Cheetahs u.19 and Bloem Academy at 12:30 and the Toyota Free State Cheetahs u.21’s and their counterparts from the Sharks at 14:45.   

Dirk van der Westhuizen will be providing entertainment at the Castle Deck after the match. 

Free State Rugby offers attractive ticket prices for the season.Supporters only pay R60 for the main stand and R40 for the open stand.  Students and kids only pay R20 while kids under 7 enter for free.  Free tickets for kids under 7 available at the ticket office. 

Coach Franco Smith announced his team with changes.  

Joseph Dweba and Jacques du Toit switch places with Dweba in the starting line-up.  Boan Venter will be making his Currie Cup debut on number 3 with Aranos Coetzee providing cover on the bench. 

The lock pair is Sintu Manjezi and Walt Steenkamp with JP du Preez on reserve.

Abongile Nonkontwana will be starting with Gerhard Olivier providing cover on the bench.

Tian Schoeman return to play after an injury with Louis Fouche on the bench.  William Small-Smith moves to inside centre and Darren Adonis will be starting. 

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:  Oupa Mohoje (knee), Aidon Davis (broken leg), Justin Basson (knee), Ali Mgijima (Achilles), Luan de Bruin (neck), Malcolm Jaer (groin) and Daniel Maartens (ankle), Marnus van der Merwe (foot) and Adriaan Carelse (hand), Charles Marais (knee). Ruben de Haas – Rugby World Cup – USA. 



      Toyota Free State Cheetahs

15.        Clayton Blommetjies

14.        Darren Adonis

13.        Benhard Janse van Rensburg

12.        William Small-Smith

11.        Tian Meyer (C )

10.        Tian Schoeman

9.           Ruan Pienaar

8.           Henco Venter

7.           Abongile Nonkontwana

6.           Junior Pokomela  

5.            Walt Steenkamp

4.            Sintu Manjesi

3.            Boan Venter

2.            Joseph Dweba

1.            Schalk van der Merwe

16.          Jacques du Toit

17.          Ox Nche

18.          Aranos Coetzee

19.          JP du Preez

20.          Gerhard Olivier

21.          Jasper Wiese

22.          Dries Swanepoel /Dian Badenhorst

22.          Louis Fouche

The referee for the match is Marius van der Westhuizen.  He will be assisted Ruhan Meiring and Mpho Matsaung.  The TMO is JJ Wagner.

Share this article:

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Potal