Welcome to the official Toyota Cheetah page

All you want to know about the team

Team Announcement: Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas

Posted on Thursday, 19 Nov 2020

Team Announcement: Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas

Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked Round 7:  Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas

The Toyota Cheetahs will be facing the Tafel Lager Griquas  in round seven of their Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked campaign on Saturday, 21 November at the Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein.

The action kicks off at 16:30 with a live broadcast on SuperSport.  Due to Covid-19 regulations, supporters will not be able to attend the match.  

The Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked match between DHL Stormers and Toyota Cheetahs displayed a tight arm wrestle between the two sides in the first half, with the home side eventually edging ahead to lead by 13-3 at the halftime break.  The home side eventually secured the win (30-13) and unfortunately for the Toyota Cheetahs it was their second loss in a row.

After seven rounds of action it is the Vodacom Bulls who remain log leaders on 19 points, followed by the DHL Stormers and Cell C Sharks (both on 17 points), the Toyota Cheetahs (12), Emirates Lions (10), Phakisa Pumas (5) and Tafel Lager Griquas (3).

Rhyno Smith and Howard Mnisi will be in the starting line-up for their first time in this competition.

Hencus van Wyk will be making his debut for the Toyota Cheetahs.  


Toyota Cheetahs vs Tafel Lager Griquas on Saturday,  21 November at 16:30

15.          Clayton Blommetjies

14.          Rhyno Smith

13.          Howard Mnisi

12.          Frans Steyn

11.          Rosko Specman

10.          Tian Schoeman

9.            Tian Meyer

8.            Jeandré Rudolph

7.            Junior Pokomela (C)/ Aidon Davis

6.            Andisa Ntsila

5.            Carl Wegner

4.            Ian Groenewald

3.            Hencus van Wyk

2.            Reinach Venter

1.            Boan Venter

16.          Jacques du Toit

17.          Cameron Dawson

18.          Khutha Mchunu

19.          Oupa Mohoje

20.          Aidon Davis/ Chris Massyn

21.          Ruben de Haas

22.          Reinhardt Fortuin

23.          William Small-Smith

AJ Jacobs will be the referee for the match.  He will be assisted by Griffin Colby and Paul Mente.  The TMO is Willie Vos.  

Players not available:  The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:  Wilmar Arnoldi (cheek bone), Reniel Hugo (knee), Aranos Coetzee (ankle), Ruan Pienaar (knee), Craig Barry (knee), Luan de Bruin (bicep) and Charles Marais (neck).

Next match:  Vodacom Bulls  vs Toyota Cheetahs, Saturday, 5 December at 16:30 at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria.        

Share this article:

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Potal