Are you a loyal supporter?

2019 Golden Loyalty Packages NOW available


Toyota Cheetah team to face Zebre – Guinness PRO14 Round 13

Posted on Thursday, 04 Jan 2019

Toyota Cheetah team to face Zebre – Guinness PRO14 Round 13

The Toyota Cheetahs will be facing Zebre in Round 13 of the Guinness PRO14 Championship in their first match of the New Year on Sunday, 6 January 2019.  The action kicks off at 15:00 (SA time) with a live broadcast on SuperSport 1 (also live on DAZN, Premier Sports 1, and eir sport 2).  

Toyota Cheetahs are refreshed and well prepared to take on the team from Italy after a four-week festive season break and will enter the match with confidence, as they occupy a higher log position than their Italian rivals despite playing two less matches in the competition. 

The hosts boast three victories in 12 matches to the Toyota Cheetahs’ two in 10 outings, but the Toyota Cheetahs have scored 63 more points in their matches, with their superior attack steering them to 31 tries to Zebre’s 19.

Coach Franco Smith’s men, however, will have to step up their defence, as Zebre have been more effective in that department.

This will mark the sides’ first clash this season, but after registering a comprehensive victory against Zebre Rugby Club in Bloemfontein and defeating the Italians 24-23 at home last season, the Toyota Cheetahs will look to continue this dominance against the side from Parma.

Chilly, but dry conditions are expected and this should be a close contest between two teams who love to throw the ball around.

“The players show a lot of enthusiasm and commitment at training and we are ready for the challenge ahead”, said Coach Franco Smith.  “It will be tough to face a team who has twice at home but we are ready to take them on.”

                                GUINNESS PRO14

                      Zebre Rugby Club vs Toyota Cheetahs

          6 January 2019. Kick-off:  15:00 (SA Time)

1             Ox Nche   

2             Joseph Dweba    

3             Aranos Coetzee

4             Justin Basson 

5             JP du Preez 

6             Gerhard Olivier

7             Junior Pokomela

8             Daniel Maartens

9             Tian Meyer (Captain)

10           Tian Schoeman

11           Rabz Maxwane

12           Nico Lee   

13           Benhard Janse van Rensburg  

14           William Small-Smith

15           Malcolm Jaer 

16           Reinach Venter 

17           Charles Marais    

18           Luan de Bruin

19           Sintu Manjezi  

20           Walt Steenkamp

21           Abongile Nonkontwana  

22           Rudy Paige 

23           Louis Fouche 

The referee for the match is Dan Jones (WRU).  He will be assisted by Aled Evans (WRU) and Gianluca Gnecchi (FIR).  The TMO is Stefano Roscini (FIR).     

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury: Quintin Vorster (ankle), Dries Swanepoel (shoulder), Oupa Mohoje (knee),   Jasper Wiese (shoulder),  Lloyd Greeff (hamstring), Jacques Du Toit (knee), Boan Venter (hip), Jamba Ulenga (neck).

Share this article: