Toyota Cheetahs vs Cardiff Blues

Live @Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Current Logs

Three from Free State named in SA Schools team

Posted on Thursday, 20 Jul 2018

Three from Free State named in SA Schools team

Free State Rugby is proud of the three players included in the SA School’s team for the Aon U18 International Series tournament, namely Jacobus Agenbag, De Wet Marais and Wyclef Vlitoor.

The tournament features three round of matches between the SA Schools team, England, Wales and France will be hosted at three Western Cape high schools, Boland Landbou, Stellenberg and SACS, from 10 to 18 August.

Coach Sean Erasmus’ charges will assemble at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport on Sunday, 5 August, to begin their preparations for the series. The captain will be announced once the coaching staff has had a chance to work with the players.

“All of the players performed well in the U18 Coca-Cola Craven Week, and they showed that they can play an exciting brand of rugby. I was particularly impressed with the resilience and character they showed during the week and I am very excited to work with them.

England and France will get the tournament underway at Boland Landbou in Paarl on Friday, 10 August, with the SA Schools team meeting Wales in their opening game.

The SA Schools team will meet France in the second round at Stellenberg in Durbanville on Tuesday, 14 August, with Wales taking on England, while the tournament concludes at SACS in Newlands on Saturday, 18 August, with the SA Schools team battling it out with England, and France meeting Wales.

SA Schools team for the Aon U18 International Series:

Forwards (18):

Jacobus Agenbag (prop), Free State/Grey College

Adrian Alberts (lock), DHL Western Province/Paarl Boys High

Dewald Donald (prop), Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls/Affies

Tristan Dullisear (flanker), Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/Monument

Jacques Goosen (hooker), Build-it Border/Selborne College

Celimpilo Gumede (No 8), Sharks/Durban High School

Hanru Jacobs (prop), DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium

Jean-Jacques Kotze (hooker), DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium

De Wet Marais (flanker), Free State/Grey College

Mihlali Mgolodela (flanker), DHL Western Province/Rondebosch Boys High

Keketso Morabe (No 8), Thepa Trading Griffons/Welkom Gimnasium

Banele Mthenjane (prop), King Price Pumas/Nelspruit

Lunga Ncube (lock), Sharks/Glenwood

Evan Roos (No 8), DHL Western Province/Paarl Boys High

Sibusiso Sangweni (lock), Sharks/Kearsney College

Jarrod Taylor (flanker), Build-it Border/Selborne College

Uzile Tele (flanker), Build-it Border/Hudson Park High

Emile van Heerden (lock), DHL Western Province XV, Paarl Boys High


Backs (12):

Lionel April (flyhalf), Boland/ Hermanus High

Thomas Bursey (scrumhalf), Build-it Border/Selborne College

Jurich Claasens (scrumhalf), Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls/Garsfontein

Darren Hendricks (fullback), DHL Western Province/Boland Landbou

Stravino Jacobs (winger), DHL Western Province/Paarl Gymnasium

Rynhardt Jonker (centre), Sharks/Glenwood

Muzilikazi Manyike (centre), Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/Jeppe Boys High

Juan Mostert (flyhalf), DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium

Brendan Venter (centre), DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium

Wyclef Vlitoor (winger), Free State/Grey College

Sibabalwe Xamlashe (fullback), Build-it Border/Selborne College

Mnombo Zwelindaba (centre), Build-it Border/Selborne College


Share this article: