Welcome to the official Toyota Cheetah page

All you want to know about the team

Online Tickets

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Toyota Cheetahs vs Airlink Pumas Cheetahs vs Airlink Pumas

Posted on Friday, 17 Jun 2022

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT:  Toyota Cheetahs vs Airlink Pumas Cheetahs vs Airlink Pumas

It’s Carling Currie Cup semi-final time and the Toyota Cheetahs will be facing the Airlink Pumas on Saturday, 18 June in an epic clash in Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein.  The action kicks off at 13:30 with a live broadcast on SuperSport.   

Gates open at 10:30 with Wilgerivier u.13 taking on Aliwal North u.13 in a curtain-raiser at 11:30.

Fans can enjoy a wide variety of food from the food trucks behind the main stand and enjoy some refreshments at the Castle Deck, where Jay will be performing after the match.

Tickets are only R50 for adults and R20 for kids and students.

Match tickets are available at the ticket office or online at www.ticketpro.co.za.  Supporters have to show a vaccination certificate or a negative Covid test to enter the stadium.

Arrie Nel Pharmacy will be doing rapid Covid tests at Gate 8 outside the stadium from 09:30 on Saturday.  Visit www.cheetahs.rugby for more details.

Coach Hawies Fourie announced his team. 

Gideon van der Merwe is included in the starting line-up, wearing the nr. 6 jerseys with Andisa Ntsila providing cover on the bench.  Reinhardt Fortuin returns from injury and is on reserve.

“We want to be disciplined tomorrow and the team will be focused on that. We are all excited.  You don’t always get the opportunity to play in a Currie Cup semi-final. It is a big game for both teams. I’m sure it will be a great game,” said Captain Ruan Pienaar.  

“We have a lot of players getting their first experience of Currie Cup semi-final and I think we just want to stick to our DNA and the way we play. Just do everything 5% or 10% better than what we’ve done throughout the season.  Hopefully, it will be enough to take us through to next week.”

“I think both teams are excited to be part of the semi-final.  It’s a special day to be part of.”

“The Currie Cup is a prestigious tournament. We take it really seriously so hopefully, we can make the supporters proud and the staff who’s put in a big shift to make this happen.”




Toyota Cheetahs


15.          Clayton Blommetjies

14.          Daniel Kasende

13.          David Brits

12.          Chris Smit

11.          Rosko Specman

10.          Siya Masuku

9.            Ruan Pienaar (C) 

8.            Jeandre Rudolph

7.            Aidon Davis

6.            Gideon van der Merwe

5.            Victor Sekekete

4.            Rynier Bernardo

3.            Aranos Coetzee

2.            Louis van der Westhuizen

1.            Cameron Dawson

16.          Marnus van der Merwe

17.          Alulutho Tshakweni

18.          Marne Coetzee

19.          Ockie Barnard

20.          Andisa Ntsila

21.          Rewan Kruger

22.          Reinhardt Fortuin

23.          Robert Ebersohn

The referee for the match is Morne Ferreira.  He will be assisted by Paul Mente and Ruhan Meiring.    The TMO is Marius Jonker.

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:  Branden de Kock (knee), Malcolm Jaer (ankle), Craig Barry (knee), Evardi Boshoff (groin), Duncan Saal (hamstring), Wilmar Arnoldi (hamstring) and Frans Steyn (hamstring).

Share this article: