Follow the game on the Cheetah Rugby App

Guinness PRO14 Round 20 – Johan Goosen makes his Guinness PRO14 debut

Posted on Thursday, 12 Apr 2018

Guinness PRO14 Round 20 – Johan Goosen makes his Guinness PRO14 debut


With only two full rounds left the focus is now fully on making the Guinness PRO14 Final Series.  The Toyota Cheetahs will be facing Munster in Round 20 on Friday, 13 April.  Kick-off is at 19:35 (SA time) in Toyota Stadium with live broadcast on SuperSport and Sky Sports.  Gates open at 17:00. 

Apart from the excitement brought by Guinness PRO14, Leah will be performing at the Castle Deck and DJ Shaxe will be providing entertainment before the game at The Spot.  Supporters can enjoy quality food at the new Sparta Braai at the Castle Deck area. 

There will be a moment of silence in honour of Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, who passed away on 2 April 2018.  Winnie was a South African anti-apartheid activist and politician, and the ex-wife of Nelson Mandela.

The Toyota Cheetahs have won their last three matches, against Connacht, Dragons and Cardiff Blues.  “We’ve now got three winnings on a trot and would like to keep the momentum and focus completely on Munster.” said Coach Rory Duncan. 
The two teams have met once before with Munster winning 51-18 in Limerick in round 2.   “We’ve grown tremendously as a team since the last time we played against Munster and we prepared for what lies ahead.” Said Captain, Francois Venter.

Coach Rory Duncan has announced his team with some changes from last week:

• Springbok flyhalf, Johan Goosen will be making his Guinness PRO14 debut.
• Niel Marais will be wearing the number 12 jersey.  Clinton Swart will be providing cover on the bench.

The following players are not eligible for team selection due to injury:
Dennis Visser (knee),  Elandré Huggett (knee) Ruan van Rensburg,  (hand), Luan de Bruin (chest muscle), Shaun Venter (groin), Malcolm Jaer (hand), Nico Lee (ankle), Luther Obi (knee), Justin Basson (ankle).

 Toyota Cheetahs vs Munster
 13 April 2018.  Kick-off:  19:35 (SA Time)
Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

15 Clayton Blommetjies
14 William Small-Smith
13 Francois Venter ( C)
12 Niel Marais
11 Sibahle Maxwane
10 Johan Goosen
9 Tian Meyer
1 Ox Nche
2 Torsten van Jaarsveld
3 Johan Coetzee
4 Carl Wegner
5 Reniel Hugo
6 Paul Schoeman
7 Oupa Mohoje
8 Uzair Cassiem
16 Jacques du Toit
17 Charles Marais
18 Tom Botha
19 Rynier Bernardo
20 Henco Venter
21 Zee Mkhabela
22 Clinton Swart
23 AJ Coertzen

The referee for the match is Mike Adamson.  He will be assisted by Lloyd Linton and Ben Crouse.  The TMO is Shaun Veldsman. 


Share this article:

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Potal